Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Mauritius Research and Innovation Council (MRIC)
Mauritius Research and Innovation Council (MRIC)>News>Mauritius Research and Innovation Council - Communique


Average Rating

Related News

Mauritius Research and Innovation Council - Communique

Date: June 22, 2020


The public is hereby informed that effective on 15 June 2020, Professor Theesan Bahorun, PhD, G.O.S.K is the Executive Director of the MRIC.​

Prior to joining the MRIC as Executive Director, Professor Theesan Bahorun occupied a Chair position in Applied Biochemistry at the University of Mauritius. He was National Research Chair and National Research and Innovation Chair from 2012 to 2018 at the Mauritius Research Council.

He was awarded a “Doctorat Sciences de la Vie et de la Santé” in Biotechnology from the University of Lille I (France). He also holds a DEA “Génie Enzymatique, Bioconversion et Microbiologie” from Université de Technologies de Compiègne (France), a “Maîtrise” in “Biochimie Alimentaire” and a “Licence” in Biochemistry from University of Lille I (France). He has more than 25 years of experience in biomedical research. He has been the Chairman of the Food and Agricultural Research Council and President of the Board of Governors of the University of Technology, Mauritius. He is currently the President of the Board of Directors of Polytechnics Mauritius, the President of the Society for Free Radical Research Africa (SFRR-Africa) and Vice President of the International Association of Medical and Biomedical Researchers (IAMBR). He is on several journal editorial boards and is the author/co-author of over 250 peer reviewed papers and communications. In 2010 he was awarded the CV Raman Senior Fellowship for African researchers by the Government of India. In 2013 he has been conferred the title of Fellow of the Mauritius Academy of Science and Technology and received the Best Mauritian Scientist Award. He has been elevated to the rank of Grand Officer of the Star and Key of the Indian Ocean (G.O.S.K) on 12 March 2015 by the President of the Republic upon recommendation by the Prime Minister of Republic of Mauritius for his contribution to Scientific Research and Education. In 2018 he was appointed as Focal Point for the QualiREG Agri-Food scientific and technical network in Mauritius. In 2019 he received the Excellent Educationist and Outstanding Scientist awards by the Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur.

(0) Comment(s)